Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Mashed at 155, but beer dried out?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 05:56 PM   #1
Cold Country Brewery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Mashed at 155, but beer dried out?

Hi all, I'm fairly new to all grain brewing (about 5). Last brew day I did a 10 gallon batch and divided it up between 2 boils. OG on both was 1.054.

Pot 1) Essentially a weak dead guy with English ale yeast - almost 2 weeks later FG 1.022

Pot 2) Pale ale with American Ale yeast - almost 2 weeks later 1.008!

What happened here? I used the same grist in both beers, only difference was the yeast and the hopping schedule. I've used American Ale plenty of times before and it's never gotten that low before. The Pot 1 @ 1.022 had a nice fullness to it with some sweetness. Pot 2 @ 1.088 was very empty tasting, thin and dry.

What went wrong with Pot 2 (wild yeast?), and is there ANY kind of solution? Could I put some Campden in there now, add DME (to put back some sweetness that won't ferment out) and force carbonate it?

I tested it last night, I'll test it again for the next couple days to see if it's done fermenting (I sure hope so).

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2012, 07:16 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 134 Times on 127 Posts

The first thing I'd try is 8 oz of maltodextrin. That will add body, mouthfeel, and some sweetness. Boil the MD in a pint water before adding, unless you are into foam volcanoes.

May take a pound, but start with 8 oz.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 02-10-2012, 08:31 PM   #3
surfingpl
Recipes 

What temps did they ferment at? Exact same for both? How do you control fermentation temp?