Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Low OG..... Bad hydrometer technique?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2008, 12:16 AM   #1
FPM
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Low OG..... Bad hydrometer technique?

Hi all,

I finished my partial mash pale ale, and my hydrometer OG reading came in low. It is supposed to be around 1.040, but I am getting it around 1.025. I have followed the directions to the T, everything went very smoothly, it looks and smells great, but why would my OG be low? I used a mini-mash technique instead of simply steeping the grains in the water, could this affect the hydrometer reading? I am also wondering if I am simply not reading the hydrometer right. I use the plastic tube that it came in, using a turkey-baster to fill it up and try to get a reading. Is this not a good technique?

The same thing happened to my amber ale last time. I am brand new to home brewing so I don't know exactly whats going on. The amber ale came out great, so Im thinking it just may be my hydrometer reading skills. Any ideas/suggestions?

Thanks!

Frank

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2008, 12:20 AM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2733 Times on 1640 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

The biggest thing that happens with new brewers and hydrometer readings is that they don't THOROUGHLY mix the boiled wort concentrate with the mix water in the fermenter...Mix the heck out of it..you have to aerate anyway, so stir it up for several minutes THEN take a reading and pitch the yeast.

I bought one of those long handled slotted paddles from my lhbs just for that reason...to thoroughly mix and aerate at the same time...I set my timer for 5 minutes and keep mixing.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.