Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Igloo vs Rubbermaid coolers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2007, 11:48 PM   #1
MikeInCtown
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Igloo vs Rubbermaid coolers

Hope this is the right place for this...

Locally I can get a Rubbermaid 7 gallon cooler for $29, an Igloo 10 gallon cooler for $50, or the Rubbermaid 10 gallon for about $20 more than that.

Has anyone converted the Igloo cooler or is the valve different?

The 7 gallon Rubbermaid cooler appears to take the same top as the 10 gallon, so should I assume that those conversion kits will work with the 7 gallon?

Just wondering if spending $20 more for a Rubbermaid is really needed. I'm new to brewing, but with Christmas coming up, i'd like to give others an idea of what I really want vs what I don't need.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2007, 12:19 AM   #2
RedSun

Recipes 

I'd always go larger than smaller, you'll want 40+ qt for a good sized brew and the right place for the post is in "Equipment"

All other things being equal, I'd go with the cheaper cooler myself as long as it provides the same ease of upgrade.

[Primary and Secondary]
Test Your Might - (Amber Victory Ale)

[Bottled or Drinking]
Red Sun - (Kryptonian Red)
Usul - (American Honey Wheat)
Weirding Way - (American Honey Wheat)

Colossus - 50qt Mash Tun

Old 12-02-2007, 12:20 AM   #3
PseudoChef

Recipes 

Liked 102 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Go to your nearest Wal-Mart and buy a 48 qt Igloo Ice Cube for $13.88.

But to answer your question, all the coolers will convert the same (i.e., same valve, etc)

You also probably want to stay away from the 7 gal cooler if you are doing 10 gallon batches and/or big beers. (O.G. > 1.080 or so).

Old 12-02-2007, 12:35 AM   #4
Bromley
Recipes