Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > I NEED help with my efficiency

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2012, 12:27 AM   #1
Ztp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default I NEED help with my efficiency

I started brewing a little over a year ago, made the switch to all grain last winter and have slowed down considerably on my brewing because ever since I made the switch to all grain, my efficiency has been horrible. I mean 45-55%! I figured my thermometer was off so I bought a new one, calibrated it and it is still doing absolutely horrible. I know its not so much the crush because I have tried from two different LHBS and ordered one online. I don't know what the heck is wrong. Like today for instance, I brewed a beer that beersmith estimated to be 1.072 and it wound up being 1.054. I know a lot of this is trial and error but I have changed everything up each time I have brewed and nothing has helped my efficiency.

I do a batch sparge, my cooler loses maybe 1-2 degrees over an hour so that should not be the problem.

The beer I have made is good, but everything I brew is all specialty or big brews, and none of them is turning out to be as big as I want them to be.

If anyone has any advice, please give it to me, before I turn this keezer I built last weekend into an Budlight distribution center!!!!! (JK about that last part but I need some help please.)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2012, 12:39 AM   #2
sketerbuck
Lifetime Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Batch sparging is never going to get you great efficiency. Have you tried fly sparging?

Old 07-30-2012, 12:57 AM   #3
stonebrewer
Invented the IPL
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 111 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 11