Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > I didn't hit my OG!!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2012, 03:42 AM   #1
mlbco1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Default I didn't hit my OG!!!

I am a newbie all grain brewer. In fact I just brewed Northern Brewer's Irish Red Ale yesterday. Recipe calls for 1.044 OG but I only got 1.036. It's in the primary fermenting away so I don't think there's much I can do. Just wondering if there will be any negative effects. Also, I tasted a sample of the the sweet wort. It was really sweet and had a grainy flavor. Is this batch doomed?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2012, 03:51 AM   #2
watsons27
Recipes 

No it will be fine. Less alcohol and it will be out of style but I bet it will be your favorite beer you have brewed it will just take a lot to get you Drunk

9D. Irish Red Ale

Aroma: Low to moderate malt aroma, generally caramel-like but occasionally toasty or toffee-like in nature. May have a light buttery character (although this is not required). Hop aroma is low to none (usually not present). Quite clean.

Appearance: Amber to deep reddish copper color (most examples have a deep reddish hue). Clear. Low off-white to tan colored head.

Flavor: Moderate caramel malt flavor and sweetness, occasionally with a buttered toast or toffee-like quality. Finishes with a light taste of roasted grain, which lends a characteristic dryness to the finish. Generally no flavor hops, although some examples may have a light English hop flavor. Medium-low hop bitterness, although light use of roasted grains may increase the perception of bitterness to the medium range. Medium-dry to dry finish. Clean and smooth (lager versions can be very smooth). No esters.