Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > How to get rid of astringent aftertaste?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2012, 10:39 PM   #1
revbish
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How to get rid of astringent aftertaste?

I recently started brewing all-grain. For years I've brewed with extract and made some really good beers. Now, I've made half a dozen batches all-grain and every single batch has had a real astringent aftertaste, not related to hops. I'm using a large rectangular cooler with a bazooka screen, Beersmith software, and a single infusion, no-sparge mashing technique. Every batch has gone very smoothly, hitting all my target temps and gravities spot on. I read and studied all-grain method a long time before actually attempting it, laying it out clearly in my mind what I was going to do, so I felt very comfortable when doing it. The bad aftertaste must be coming from the mashing process, but I really don't know what I can do to avoid this. Anybody have any ideas?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2012, 10:57 PM   #2
drhookmec
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

It may be time to invest in a PH meter and keep an eye on your mash PH.
If it goes to high it can cause astringent flavors.
You can also send a sample of your water to ward labs for analysis then use EZ water calculator to adjust it.

Tim

Old 03-11-2012, 11:01 PM   #3
nbolmer
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by revbish View Post