Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > How do YOU keep your cooler mash-tun as close to temp as possible?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2013, 05:01 PM   #1
hmmmbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default How do YOU keep your cooler mash-tun as close to temp as possible?

I have been brewing for years and have since gone to AG a few years ago but have never been able to hold my mash-tun AT temp. In the pas I have just accounted for the 2-3 degrees that I lose so if I need to hold 153 I'll mash at 156. I am using a cooler as my mash-tun and thought of using a fermentation band(for a bucket) or even plugging in a heater blanket and just wrap it like a baby. That just gave me another idea, heating pad under the cooler should help too... I might try the heating pad and heated blanket this weekend and see how it does. I'll keep you posted on the outcome. BTW, I'm talking about when it gets cold outside(as I brew in my garage that isn't heated).

How do you keep your temp. close?

Thanks for any ideas!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2013, 05:10 PM   #2
pigroaster
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default cooler

I use an extreme cooler with heavier walls and I made a blue foam insert that fills the cup holders and a 1 inch blue foam cover insulates the top even more. I preheat my cooler with hot sparge water 20 minutes before show time and pour it out before I add sparge water around 176F. I have brewed at -10 in garage and temperatures held. I also kept grain in house at 68F before I added it! It works for me. I usually hit 154F doing this. If your temperature is dropping, dough in faster and add fresh hot water.!!!

Old 12-31-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
opiate82
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 81 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 20