HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Help with water report.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2008, 07:32 AM   #1
Kauai_Kahuna
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default Help with water report.

OK, I will admit I kind of did not even go to my chem classes in HS, and I studied the "softer sciences" in college. Very nice and soft.

I could use some help in figuring out just WTF I need to do to with my water if anything. I think the water is perfect, I have no problem or flavours drinking right out of the tap, but I understand that great tasting water may not be the best brewing water.
http://bws.honolulu.gov/ccr/11041.pdf

For the last two batches I did I added one Camden pill crushed into the brewing water the night before from some threads here, and I'm not certain if it caused the change, but my efficiency bumped up from the 60's to the higher 70's. THIS FORUM ROCKS.

I am actually paying attention to my schooling now so if anyone can make some recommendations I would really appreciate it.

---
In Primary: Belgium Chimay clones.
In Secondary: Braggot, pale ale, end of the world white.
Conditioning: Mead, Cider, braggot, Belgium Wheat.
On Tap: Clones, Chimay Blue, Red, Porter, malted cider.
Bottles: Far, far, too many to list.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2008, 10:45 AM   #2
Piotr
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

I see that all over the world those water reports are useless for homebrewer. Yours contain nothing meaningful for us, except for the level of sulfates, which is quite low. No pH, no hardness, no bicarbonates...

Old 08-01-2008, 12:37 PM   #3
D2T
Brew Monkey

Recipes