Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Help w/Pliny

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2009, 09:37 PM   #1
chefLenT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Help w/Pliny

I'm new to all grain and I'm brewing a batch of Pliny the Elder from AHB tomorrow.I'm using brewsmith and I'm not sure which mash profile to select.My equipment is 48qt. cooler and 8.75 gal. brewpot.Also,should I lower the brewhouse efficiency since I don't have extra grain to compensate for batch sparging ?Or run to my LHBS and get some?
11.54 lbs. pale malt
.88 lbs. carapils
.25 lbs. crystal 40

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2009, 09:39 PM   #2
zman
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 15

I just created my own profile in beersmith since I have a Coleman Xtreme 72qt cooler. I would get the extra grain if you can. I did the recipe from Zymurgy and although it is a little on the cloudy side I think it came out pretty close to the real thing

Old 10-23-2009, 09:48 PM   #3
weirdboy
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 425 Times on 346 Posts
Likes Given: 58

I would lower the brewhouse efficiency just because it's your first time, and mistakes happen.

Do you have any DME or LME? I usually keep some on hand in case I miss my target preboil gravity, so I can just throw a pound or two in and bump it back up at the beginning of the boil.

I'm not sure what you mean by extra grain to compensate for batch sparging. There is nothing inherently inefficient about batch sparging IME. I have gotten 90% efficiency in my cooler doing batch sparging.