Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Growing barley and wheat at home

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2009, 02:21 PM   #11
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 17

No problem, I do it for a living. All you can do is plant the seeds and mother nature will give you what you get. The biggest things that keep barley from going malt is disease (can't speak much about that for your area) and frost, which really kills the germination. An early frost will not hurt the barley, a light frost often helps a little, the barley plant seems to get tougher. A frost after the head is set is no good at all, but you also have to wait until the plant is fully mature and the seeds are in the 14% moisture range before havesting.
Farming is like gambling in this part. If you leave it in the field, quality usually will improve, but that one bad night of rain or frost will damage everything.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2009, 02:27 PM   #12
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Another thing to keep in mind is the seeding rate. Kind of hard if you are just scattering seeds by hand, but you are looking for a rate of 20-25 plants per sq foot. Shoot for the upper end of that, but don't go over, as this will cause a competition problem and you will get a lot more of nothing. Too much can be a bad thing here.

Also, the numbers used are for commercial farming with fertilizer and pesticides/herbicides. Your choice if you want/need these, but that may affect yeilds.

Old 04-23-2009, 03:12 PM   #13
roylee
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Come theshing time a flail is easily made, but a short piece of rubber hose works as well.

Old 11-30-2009, 07:01 PM   #14
StAnthonyB
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumbo82 View Post