The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Flaked Barley Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2007, 03:16 PM   #1
EdWort
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 251 Times on 135 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Flaked Barley Question

I'm tossing in some flaked barley in my experimental Blonde recipe today. I've never used it before. Do you send it through the mill with the rest of the grain or do you mash it as is?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2007, 03:26 PM   #3
EdWort

Recipes 

Liked 251 Times on 135 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Cool. Thanks. I'm using it to hopefully add some creaminess mouthfeel to my blonde recipe. Through the mill it goes.

Old 08-23-2007, 03:27 PM   #4
Evan!

Recipes 

Liked 66 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 1

The first time I made a brew that used FB since getting my Barley Crusher, I tried sending some thru. Most of it just slipped between the rollers unharmed. I thus deduced that it's not supposed to go through a mill. So I don't mill it. Seems pointless...

.planned:
•Scottish 80/- •Sweet Stout •Roggenbier
.primary | bright:
98: Moss Hollow Soured '09 72: Oude Kriek 99: B-Weisse 102: Brett'd BDSA 104: Feat of Strength Helles Bock 105: Merkin Brown
.on tap | kegged:
XX: Moss Hollow Springs Sparkling Water 95: Gott Mit Uns German Pils 91b: Brown Willie's Oaked Abbey Ale 103: Merkin Stout
98: Yorkshire Special 100: Maple Porter 89: Cidre Saison 101: Steffiweizen '09 (#3)

Old 08-23-2007, 03:46 PM   #5
Dr Malt
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts

You can put the flaked barley and other flaked grains through your mill if you want, but it is not necessary. The flakes will wet sufficiently in the mash exposing the glatinized starch to enzymatic attack. Flake barley and oats have high levels of beta glucans, a carbohydrate that thickens the wort and beer some. It should add to the mouthfeel you are seeking.

Dr Malt