Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > First all grain - non boil

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2012, 12:20 AM   #1
hbr2547
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 175
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts

Default First all grain - non boil

Just cracked my first all grain. A bit early, just wanted to taste as I'm anxious. Tastes good but extra cloudy - the wort got up to 205 or so but no boil. How does that impact the beer - taste, look, etc

Thx

__________________
hbr2547 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 12:25 AM   #2
Stauffbier
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Stauffbier's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 5,062
Liked 1003 Times on 617 Posts
Likes Given: 2673

Default

Did it not boil at all? Or does water boil at 205F at your elevation like it does at mine?

__________________
Bier war sein letztes wort dann trugen ihn die Englein fort...

Stauffbier is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 01:07 AM   #3
hbr2547
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 175
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts

Default

No boil at all - 212 or higher I think

__________________
hbr2547 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 02:04 AM   #4
Stauffbier
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Stauffbier's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 5,062
Liked 1003 Times on 617 Posts
Likes Given: 2673

Default

What's the elevation where you live?

__________________
Bier war sein letztes wort dann trugen ihn die Englein fort...

Stauffbier is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 02:07 AM   #5
lumpher
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 4,515
Liked 118 Times on 107 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

well, lets see... he said it didn't boil, not that it didn't reach 212 degrees, so i wonder if he means it didn't boil or whatever...that means there will be no protein break. it needs to boil to separate the protein from the wort

__________________

Taps:
1: Yeti RIS clone
2: Mangrove Hefe
3: Barkshack Gingermead
4: Oatmeal Stout
5: Bavarian Wheat
6: Premium Lager

Fermenting: Concord Wine, ESB

lumpher is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 02:18 AM   #6
Sithdad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Macungie, PA
Posts: 332
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Mine doesn't reach 212°F either, but then again I'm not at sea level. Remember, the boiling point of water is 212°F at sea level. The best I've ever done is 209°F. I think I'm about 500ft above sea level.

When you "boiled" yours did it foam up at all? If it did then you got a hot break and the haze you're seeing could be chill haze from not chilling it fast enough. I can't recall if a weak hot break impacts clarity or not.

__________________
Sithdad is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 10:39 AM   #7
hbr2547
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 175
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbr2547
No boil at all - 212 or higher I think
Sorry - to clarify definitely no boil and the 212 was referencing boiling point. My temp was maybe high 200 or 205. Not much in way of hot break if I remember correctly.
__________________
hbr2547 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 03:07 PM   #8
TyTanium
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,949
Liked 548 Times on 386 Posts
Likes Given: 418

Default

So, why didn't you boil it?

I'd expect some DMS.

__________________
TyTanium is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 12:08 AM   #9
hbr2547
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 175
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyTanium
So, why didn't you boil it?

I'd expect some DMS.
I tried but the gas burner didn't heat it up enough and I have an electric stove. Bad prep work for first all grain. Recently completed my second which had much better results.
__________________
hbr2547 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2012, 01:22 AM   #10
smyrnaquince
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Concord, MA
Posts: 569
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Consider making smaller batches that you can bring to a boil with your equipment. I do my batches on the stovetop and do 2.5-gallon batches instead of the standard 5 gallon batches because I can bring 4-5 gallons to a boil.

__________________
smyrnaquince is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools