Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Excessive tannins

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2012, 01:07 AM   #1
d_striker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default Excessive tannins

I've been brewing for a few years now. I've always batch sparged in the past and recently switched over to fly sparging as i finished building my vertical brew stand. My firt two batches on my new system have come out VERY astringent and more chill hazed than usual.

My crush is good and efficiency is where it should be (75-78%). I brew with RO water with salts added to the mash, sparge with RO, and add the remaining salts to the brew kettle.

I currently don't have a way to verify ph but I think I'm over sparging some way or another. My sparge rate is approximately 1.5 qt/minute with 168 degree water.

Shouldn't my RO fly sparge maintain a low enough ph to not extract tannins and phenols or should I try to dissolve the remaining salts to my sparge water to lower ph?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2012, 01:14 AM   #2
Frodo
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 16

One thing to check is your final runnings - supposedly below 1.008 (I think, from Palmer) you can get tannin extraction.

Old 10-03-2012, 01:15 AM   #3
d_striker
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frodo View Post
One thing to check is your final runnings - supposedly below 1.008 (I think, from Palmer) you can get tannin extraction.
Isn't that because by that point of the sparge the mash ph has risen?

Old 10-03-2012, 04:49 PM   #4
JJL
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 2

You could try treating your sparge water with phosphoric or lactic acid to drop the pH. Also, on the back end you could try adding gelatin. It's supposed to help remove some tannins.

Old 10-03-2012, 05:00 PM   #5
d_striker
Recipes 

Quote: