The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Dry yeast Vs Liquid

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2008, 12:48 PM   #31
Turkeyfoot Jr.
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

When I started brewing I used dry yeast only and then as I got to my 8th or 9th batch of extract I started trying liquid yeasts. I used predominately liquid yeasts for the rest of my extract batches plus the 7 PM batches I did. I enjoyed making the starters and washing the yeast when a batch was done. Once I started AG I decided it was time to get back to basics until I had the AG process itself worked out so I went back to dry yeast. The 9 AG batches I've done so far, all with either Nottingham or S-05, have all turned out great so I don't see myself going back to liquid any time soon.

Primary: EMPTY!
Bottled:
Kegged: Turkeyfoot English Mild

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2008, 01:00 PM   #32
elkdog
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckbeagle View Post
Just kegged a 10 gallon Hefe Wiezen batch. Pitched A dry yeast WB-06 in one and Wyeast 3068 in the other. Both 5 gallons were threated the same throughout. Hands down on the taste of the 5 gallon with Wyeast 3068 yeast!!!!

\
Yeah, that WB-06 seems to confirm the going wisdom that dry yeasts are great for clean American or English styles, but that Belgians, Hefes, and other specialty brews do better with the liquids. All of my favorite beers fall into that American/English vein, so the dry yeast works terrifically for me, but then I don't brew many hefes.

Old 08-11-2008, 05:00 PM   #33
Teacher
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdWort View Post
I pretty much use Nottingham & Safale-05 for all my beers [. . .]
Same here.

Old 08-11-2008, 06:03 PM   #34
Beerbeque
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts