Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Do I need a 10 gallon mash tun?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2007, 03:24 AM   #1
StrmStlkr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Do I need a 10 gallon mash tun?

As you can see this is my first post so bear with me here.

I just started brewing a few months ago and have only done an extract and PM brew in that time. I enjoy this new found hobby and am wanting to go to AG as soon as possible so I have a few questions about the equipment.

My main question for this post is the mash tun. I see many posts about people suggesting a 10 gallon water cooler, which I have no problem with going that way, but am wondering why 10 gallon?

I have been looking around at prices and noticed that the 10 gallon water coolers are pretty expensive, like around 60 bucks or so and was wondering if I could get by with a 5 gallon.

I want to mention that I do have plans on some day going all out and making a beer sculpture and everything like that but want to get the jist of AG down first. I would also like to spend my money on kegging equipment before I build this sculpture.

So, finally, bottom line question. Would a 5 gallon water cooler work for a Mash Tun or would a 10 gallon really be better?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2007, 03:29 AM   #2
Jayfro21
Recipes