Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Common Culprit for Missing OG?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2012, 03:27 AM   #1
demuzik
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Common Culprit for Missing OG?

Hi there... not a full blown noob here, I've brewed around 60-70 AG batches within the past 3 years, and most have come out quite nicely.

However, recently I've had several batches fail to hit OG miserably.
Nothing has changed in my process, at least intentionally... I use roughly a 1.25qt/lb mash ratio, single sparge method.
Previously I narrowed the issue down to poor crush from my HBS - after inspecting the mash tun (after the mash, of course) I noticed that most grains were still fully intact and not even crushed.

Today I brewed what was to be a robust porter (14.5lb of grain), and only ended up with preboil gravity of 1.040. After adding a lb of DME and a rigorous boil only got a OG of 1.054... barely an American brown ale.

My question is... can the grain crush affect things that much? I don't know how this large, online HBS stays in business if they keep shipping out poorly ground grain... or am I the only AG brewer that has yet to buy their own barley crusher?

Any thoughts/advice would be appreciated...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2012, 03:39 AM   #2
Dunerunner
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 29

and crush If you estimate the amount of your grain bill that was not crushed to expose the germ, that is the reduced amount of extractable grain in the mash. So, if you think you lost 10% you only mashed with 13 lbs of grain, if you figure it was 20%, 10.6 pounds....etc. Add to that, you probably received a poor crush of the entire grain bill which would further reduce your yield.

Old 07-05-2012, 06:08 AM   #3
theveganbrewer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 290 Times on 206 Posts