Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Can I add water to my fermenter after the first day?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2013, 12:11 AM   #1
Brewmaster_n00b
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 7

Default Can I add water to my fermenter after the first day?

I did my first AG recipe yesterday and did a 3gal. Sparge with a 3gal. strike. Because of grain absorption and boiling evaporation I ended up with 4gal. wort.
Can I now (one day later) add 1gal. to my wort in the fermenter? Or am I just a brewmaster_n00b and have to settle for the 4gal. batch? thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-21-2013, 12:50 AM   #2
zach976
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 13 Posts

Did you use a recipe or check your OG? I'm a brewing noob myself. I think its ok to add as soon as you realize your short but not a day later. My first all grain, I followed the directions and apparently boiled off too much wort. My second recipe I compensated for the loss by starting with more water. After the boil I was right where I needed to be.

Old 05-21-2013, 01:32 AM   #3
Brewmaster_n00b
Recipes 

Yup. That's where I am. Not sure if I should add room temp tap water or boil it first and let it cool to room temp before adding it. Its been 24hrs now.

Old 05-21-2013, 01:36 AM   #4
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 488 Times on 452 Posts
Likes Given: 214

What was the predicted and actual OG? Add ing a gallon of water will dilute your beer

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010

Old 05-21-2013, 01:51 AM   #5
Brewmaster_n00b
Recipes 

I don't have a hydrometer yet, I'm brewing by the seam of my pants as it were. I purchased an AG cream ale from NB and it didn't come with a recipe, only times to pitch. so I had to Google, youtube, and HBT everything else. I thought 6 gals would become 5 not 4 so I didn't realize the power of reduction.