Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Bulk grain storage

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2012, 01:04 PM   #21
dannedry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I use the cheap 5 gallon buckets and lids from Menards, and have had no problems with them in 2 years of brewing. I stack them in my basement. Specialty grain I keep in ziplock bags in the freezer with my hops.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2012, 02:20 PM   #22
Irrenarzt
HNIC
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 155 Times on 113 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wreck99 View Post
Is the trash can airtight though? Or does that matter?

I'm just getting into AG (2 batches under my belt now), after 6 months of extract brewing. I'm looking into buying grain in bulk and a mill. Just need to figure out what I'm storing it in and what I should buy in bulk. I figured I'll map out a few recipes for the rest of the year and go off that. I was considering using Homer buckets for the grains...
Been doing this for years without issue. However, I live in a dry climate. If you live in humidity, you may want a better seal. I've been through 10's of 50 pound bags without even a bug in there as far as I can tell and grain hasn't gotten stale, bug infested or mice eating it (I have a lot of mice in my garage as evidenced by all the traps I get filled). That said, I brew alot. Usually every Saturday. So I go through grain fairly fast.
On Tap: Belgian Pale Ale, Session Porter, American Brown Ale, Rum Barrel-Aged Wee Heavy, Beer Camp #118 Grandma's Closet

On Deck: Oud Bruin, Blue Corn Saison, Weizenbock, Berliner Weisse, Pomegranate Cider

Old 06-05-2012, 03:15 AM   #23
Wreck99
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 25