Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Braided hose or Manifold? Which is better?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2009, 04:57 PM   #41
InYerMouth
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I went with a figure 8 copper manifold and used a dremel to saw slits in the bottom side of the manifold...to make it even easier, I didnt solder anything together, just used t-connectors and elbows...works great, saved time on construction and very easy to take apart and clean...dont see the need to solder...if it fits together. I put holes in the bottom anyway. the point is to allow liquid through it anyway right?? No problems yet but then again I am still a noob...lol.

One question I do have just in case is with the rice hulls...I am getting ready to do a hefe and an oatmeal stout and know I should use them...does it matter where in the mash I add them?? on bottom, on top...or mixed in?? does it matter?

Kegged: Bourbon Oaked OIS, Rauchbier; Vanilla Coffee OIS; S'mores Brown Ale
Primary: :(
Secondary: Liquid Sex Chocolate Mead
Bulk Age: Caramel Apple Mead; Cherry Mead
Future: Irish Red; Citra Pale Ale; Buckwheat Common

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2009, 09:11 PM   #42
Nugent
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Just had my first brewday with a SS braid - efficiency up by 10%!

Crush the same, mash time the same and same mash temp.

Converted!

Old 05-24-2009, 04:23 PM   #43
the_Roqk

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYerMouth View Post
...One question I do have just in case is with the rice hulls...I am getting ready to do a hefe and an oatmeal stout and know I should use them...does it matter where in the mash I add them?? on bottom, on top...or mixed in?? does it matter?