Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Bourbon oak chip aging help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2010, 03:58 AM   #1
Beau815
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Bourbon oak chip aging help

So what do you think? This is my first time adding espresso or oak chips. I brewed a 5 gallon batch of yeti clone from AHS. I got experimental and added 3 shots of espresso at 5 min to flameout (because yeti does have an espresso oak aged yeti). Smells and tastes amazing! I hit the 1.090 that the kit aims for. I have 4 oz of light toasted american oak chips, i tossed about an oz out and have 3 oz soaking in jim beam bourbon. I am wondering how to add these... I may only add maybe 1-1.5 oz as I hear they impart ALOT of oak and too much is a BAD idea. I will probably wait for the secondary before tossing the chips in for maybe 7-10 days? Then I will bottle. I dont wanna ruin this because its so promising so far. Anyone have ANYTHING to add? Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2010, 04:47 AM   #2
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 477 Times on 420 Posts
Likes Given: 266

I would suggest sampling the brew starting after only a day or two. Far better to take more samples and catch it when the flavor profile is on target, then to let it go too far and have to try and compensate. That being said, I would go a little higher in flavor than you ultimately want, and then [bulk] age off of the chips for another couple of weeks before bottling. That way, if it mellows too much, you can compensate by adding a little more chips...

Personally, I'd go for a medium toast chip/cube over a light toast...