New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > boiling all grain split batch HELP?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2006, 01:09 PM   #1
jldesign
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 162
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default boiling all grain split batch HELP?

I have a large pot but the bottom surface area is too large to heat up on my glass top stove and I've tried it and it is way too long straight 5.5 gallon filled. I want to do all grain inside but fear I can't get a boil.

I guess I could fill the big pot with about 4 gallons then a smaller 2 gallon till the smaller boils then combine in hopes to speed up boil in the larger one? will combining the 1 boiling to one not boiling cause any oxidation before first hop addition?

anyone have any ideas on method or madness on this... much appreciated on any ideas to fix the situation without a turkey fryer or larger stove. wife allows this and the great stink of grains but I can only push so far friends.

also my smaller 5 gallon is SS the larger is aluminum does one conduct heat faster maybe a larger SS pot with the smaller bottom diameter can help?

thanks for any input I'm slowly approaching my first AG!



__________________

busy busy busy
jldesign is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2006, 01:24 PM   #2
davy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
davy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 104
Default

Are you not interested in getting a turkey fryer? It is much easier and will cost you less money when you compare propane to your electric bill. And turkey fryers are really not that expensive and worth the investment. And also when you switch to AG it will definitely help with heating your sparge water and mash water.



__________________
davy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2006, 01:27 PM   #3
Darth Konvel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Darth Konvel's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,046
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Do you have enough room for both pots? I use two 5 gal pots, each with 3.5 - 4 gals in them. I'm using an open electric stove though, so I'm not sure if you're glass top range would put out the same heat.

__________________
-LupusUmbrus
Up Next: ???


Darth Konvel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2006, 03:17 PM   #4
El Pistolero
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
El Pistolero's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston, Baja Oklahoma
Posts: 3,598
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jldesign
I have a large pot but the bottom surface area is too large to heat up on my glass top stove and I've tried it and it is way too long straight 5.5 gallon filled. I want to do all grain inside but fear I can't get a boil.
I've got a ceramic stove top, and I was really pushing it to get a decent boil going with much over 3 gallons...and that was on the big burner. The glass stove tops just aren't good for making beer.
__________________

[/I] Up Next - Hobgoblin
After That - Czech Pilsner
Primary - Humboldt Hop Rod (4/24)
Primary - NOT Wheat AG SNCA (5/5)
Secondary -
Conditioning - SNCA Clone (3/3),

El Pistolero is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2006, 08:52 PM   #5
jldesign
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 162
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

on my many extract partial mash batches - I usually got 2 gallons boiling (plain water in the 5 gallon pot) then steaped some specialty grains or did small mini-mash in another pot then added that to the 2 gallons on boil which would get me 4+ gallons to a boil in 10-15 minutes which was perfect.

I'm going to look at getting a slightly larger SS pot and getting the first mash going in the large pot to boil while sparging the second half into a smaller pot and rolling that up to a boil and adding it to the larger from that point I think I can get my temp up where I can keep it going wihtout going max on the range.

*****do I have to worry about any HOT wort oxidation or anything?****

I have 2 dogs and people milling around outside all the time and I just don't have the space to safely do it IMO (I would in a heartbeat if I could)

__________________

busy busy busy
jldesign is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2006, 09:28 PM   #6
Darth Konvel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Darth Konvel's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,046
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jldesign
do I have to worry about any HOT wort oxidation or anything?
During the boil, I would so no.


__________________
-LupusUmbrus
Up Next: ???


Darth Konvel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split batch sparge?? BillTheSlink Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 09-07-2009 02:39 PM
Split my batch in the primary? snowbum007 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 11-04-2008 01:53 PM
Split Batch Experiment hal simmons General Techniques 2 04-30-2008 04:46 PM
Split the Batch? BigKahuna Extract Brewing 4 02-11-2008 02:26 PM
Doing an ale/lager split batch Bobby_M Recipes/Ingredients 3 12-10-2007 02:32 AM