Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > bitter beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2012, 05:39 PM   #1
elderbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default bitter beer

The last 4 batches I have brewed end up very bitter regardless of the amount of hops. Right after carbonation the beer tastes very good,but within a couple of weeks it becomes very bitter, not pleasant to drink, I have been brewing since 2001 and always brewed good beer. This has happened after I moved to a different town and began keging. I am very careful about sanitation. Has anyone else had this problem and where should I start looking for the cause?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2012, 05:48 PM   #2
JordanThomas
Recipes 

Liked 82 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 426

What's your water situation? Moving to a different town suggests you started using different water. That'd be where I would start.

Old 08-28-2012, 05:50 PM   #3
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 477 Times on 420 Posts
Likes Given: 266

It could be the water you're using. Try using either super-filtered or RO water for a batch. Also check to make sure you're not over carbonating the batches (in keg). Over carbonation can lead to carbonic bite.

Try to compare the water reports from where you were before and you are now... I'd also send out a water sample to a lab to find out what's really in the water. If you're not doing any filtering at all, get a system to filter your brew water. Even a simple two stage filter system can do a lot of good (they're not expensive either).

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se

On Tap: Caramel Ale, Mocha Porter II, MO SMaSH IPA
Waiting/Carbonating: 12.5% Wee Honey II, 8.9% Old Ale, English Brown Ale, Lickah ESB, Mocha Porter II
Fermenting
K1:
K2: Epic mead
K3: TripSix
On Deck: Caramel Ale
Aging:mead