The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB Pumpkin Ale?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2012, 06:14 PM   #31
Mysticmead
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 68 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 104

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMJfan View Post
I have what might be a silly question, but I am new to BIAB and have been doing all extract brewing to this point. I brewed an extract pumpkin ale and my recipe called for the pumpkin to be added at 60 minutes of the boil with the first hop addition. Is there a reason you have to add the pumpkin in your grain bag when doing BIAB and why couldn't you just add the pumpkin at 60 minutes of the boil like you would in an extract recipe?
if added to the mash you get the fermentable sugars converted along with the starches in the grain. adding to the boil could lead to a very cloudy beer if the pectin sets due to boiling. not to mention that'd be a hell of a mess in the kettle to siphon around .

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2012, 06:18 PM   #32
SixStrings
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 22

I second mashing with the pumpkin instead. I've read plenty of posts from people who had a nightmare trying to get their beer to clear after boiling the pumpkin. Haven't tried it myself but after everything I've read I don't think I want to.

Old 09-13-2012, 08:10 PM   #33
MMJfan
Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 43

I didn't have too much of a problem. That's why I brought up the question.