HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > which is better? undermodified or fully modified pils malt?

View Poll Results: Which would you use for a complex step mash?
Fully Modified Pils Malt 14 46.67%
Under-Modified Pils Malt 16 53.33%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2007, 06:59 PM   #1
Steve973
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default which is better? undermodified or fully modified pils malt?

Some of you may have seen my other thread asking about mash steps. If I'm using a fairly complex mash schedule, which would be better? Fully modified pils or under modified pils? My rests will include beta gluconase, protease, beta amylase, and alpha amylase.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2007, 08:20 PM   #2
Evets

Recipes 

Liked 112 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 66

I'm no expert and I may be totally missing the point, but if you use fully modified grain, doesn't that eliminate the need for the complex mash schedule?

Old 01-08-2007, 09:08 PM   #3
boo boo
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Yes it would not be required to do the full mash schedule. A protien rest would not be nesessay and in fact could adversly affect head retention in fully modified malts.

How do you BBQ an elephant....first you get your elephant....

Old 01-08-2007, 09:54 PM   #4
Orfy
For the love of beer!

Recipes 

Liked 64 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 30

I'm not to sure why you are doing this. Are you just after the experience or are you trying to get an end result?

Old 01-09-2007, 12:11 AM   #5
Baron von BeeGee
Beer Bully

Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts