The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BeerSmith Batch Sparge Steps?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2012, 11:56 PM   #1
ProfessorBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wheeling, WV
Posts: 84
Likes Given: 4

Default BeerSmith Batch Sparge Steps?

I've been doing all-grain for almost 6 months now, but I finally bought BeerSmith. For batch sparge, it recommends 4 steps: draining the first runnings, and then 3 batches for the sparge.

I know this is just the default setting and can be changed, but I'm sure it's there for a reason. Does anyone do 3 batches for the sparge? Or just one? Or two?

__________________

Tap #1: Smooth Brown Ale
Tap #2: Black IPA
Primary #1: India Brown Ale
Primary #2: -empty-
Secondary: -empty-
Upcoming Brews: Scottish Export, Czech Pilsner

ProfessorBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 12:02 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 60,044
Liked 4202 Times on 3059 Posts
Likes Given: 779

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfessorBrew View Post
I've been doing all-grain for almost 6 months now, but I finally bought BeerSmith. For batch sparge, it recommends 4 steps: draining the first runnings, and then 3 batches for the sparge.

I know this is just the default setting and can be changed, but I'm sure it's there for a reason. Does anyone do 3 batches for the sparge? Or just one? Or two?
I never heard of anybody doing three, but I'd guess that about half of batch spargers do a second round. It really depends on the volumes also- if there isn't enough water to thoroughly saturate the grains with two sparges, even those who like to do two rounds will do one.
__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006
Yooper is offline
ProfessorBrew Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 01:52 AM   #3
duboman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 5,956
Liked 450 Times on 419 Posts
Likes Given: 200

Default

IME the only reason the software would prescribe that many steps is if your equipment can't handle the volume required.

Make sure your equipment profile is set up properly and if you see any red dots next to something it means your capacity is maxed out or not capable of accommodating the recipe.

__________________
Nothing Left to do but smile and drink beer.....

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010
duboman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 04:44 AM   #4
ReverseApacheMaster
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 4,887
Liked 228 Times on 191 Posts

Default

I think three is the default on the default equipment. That's nonsense. You need to fill the kettle to at least a couple inches above the grains and then stir the crap out of it. I usually have enough water to do two good batches. If I am in a hurry I do it all at once but I try to split it between two with the first being just enough to get a couple inches above the grains and then let the second one be a little larger to get a thorough washing of the grain.

__________________
ReverseApacheMaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 05:10 AM   #5
oakbarn
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
oakbarn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Argyle, Texas
Posts: 709
Liked 44 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

We do one sparge. We used to do 2 but found it a waste of time as we had rinsed 99% of the sugars with the first sparge. We just get to boil volume for the desired OG ( We add water or plan a boil down). 99.9999% we add water.

__________________
oakbarn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 02:07 PM   #6
forstmeister
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
forstmeister's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,195
Liked 170 Times on 131 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

With my 5 gallon MLT, I find that it takes 2 batches to get it all in. I usually have somewhere near 13 lbs of grain per batch since I prefer stronger beers so I can't fit all of the sparge water in one batch.

__________________

I drink (homebrew), therefore I am (gassy)

forstmeister is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 02:07 AM   #7
granpooba19
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
granpooba19's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Princeton Jct, NJ
Posts: 97
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

So if the mash tun can hold the liquid, one batch sparge is good enough?

__________________
granpooba19 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 02:24 AM   #8
Chuckus95
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 231
Liked 102 Times on 54 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by granpooba19 View Post
So if the mash tun can hold the liquid, one batch sparge is good enough?
Absolutely. Although, I find that I have little better efficiency (1 - 2%) when I double-batch sparge.
__________________
Keg: Fresh-Hop Amber; Galaxy/Simcoe/Citra IPA; Maharaja Clone; Winter Warmer
Primary: Rye Pale Ale; Red Dragon (Imperial Red Ale)
Secondary:
On Deck: Tripel; Smoked Porter; Marzen; Ahtanum/Belma/Columbus IPA
Chuckus95 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 01:35 PM   #9
oakbarn
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
oakbarn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Argyle, Texas
Posts: 709
Liked 44 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckus95 View Post
Absolutely. Although, I find that I have little better efficiency (1 - 2%) when I double-batch sparge.
Exactly, The 1-to 2% is not "wort" my time. You can add 25 cents of grain and accomplish the same thing on a 5 gallon batch.
__________________
oakbarn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 01:40 PM   #10
Chuckus95
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 231
Liked 102 Times on 54 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oakbarn View Post
Exactly, The 1-to 2% is not "wort" my time. You can add 25 cents of grain and accomplish the same thing on a 5 gallon batch.
Agreed.
__________________
Keg: Fresh-Hop Amber; Galaxy/Simcoe/Citra IPA; Maharaja Clone; Winter Warmer
Primary: Rye Pale Ale; Red Dragon (Imperial Red Ale)
Secondary:
On Deck: Tripel; Smoked Porter; Marzen; Ahtanum/Belma/Columbus IPA
Chuckus95 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beersmith and Batch Sparging - Why so many steps??? stratslinger Brewing Software 7 10-11-2012 07:54 PM
Beersmith Batch Sparge question Wingfan13 Brewing Software 4 10-02-2012 02:48 PM
4th Batch, 1st AG - Water, BeerSmith, Batch Sparge Questions delucr Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 12-20-2011 12:50 AM
BeerSmith Batch Sparge? rack04 All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 8 04-19-2011 09:07 PM
Beersmith- How do I Set it Up for a Batch Sparge? RonRock Brewing Software 6 10-08-2009 01:46 AM