Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Beer tastes like plastic

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2009, 10:40 PM   #1
GHB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beer tastes like plastic

gentlemen, I made two blonde ales using Notty yeast. Everything seemed fine and looked fine but both of them tasted like plastic. This is a tried and true recipe and i have never had this problem before. I visited the thread about what infections look like and I did not see anything out of the ordinary in my fermentors. I pitched a little hot 90 or so but have done this in the past with no problem. I have a freezer set at 66 degrees for fermenting temp. Can anyone give some advise on what the problem may be. Dont wanna loose another. Thanks

Garrett

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2009, 11:18 PM   #2
GHB
Recipes 

Please help

Old 08-14-2009, 11:41 PM   #3
carbon111
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Check out this thread:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f163/not...-yeast-128940/

My last IPA brewed with Nottingham and fermented at 65-69 F smelled and tasted like rotting bananas.

After a month, the flavor is starting to fade a little.

Nottingham may have some issues just now...Safale US-05 may be a good substitute if you prefer dry.

Best Regards, James
--
My beer blog: http://brewdujour.blogspot.com
My website: http://www.carbon111.com

Fermenting: Carbon's Grizzly Bear, Young's Special London Ale (clone)

Bottled/Conditioning:Siberian Raven Winter Ale, Cherry Tree Porter, Victoria's Dirty Secret

Drinking: Montgomery Scottish Ale, Thames American Bitter, Crow's Beak Old Ale, Bastet Brown, Carbon's Cascade Ale, Red Silo Honey IPA

Old 08-14-2009, 11:50 PM   #4
Stuntman
Alcohol to Urine 37+ yrs. Not any longer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 95 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 7