Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Batch Spargers: Mashout, Yea or Nay?

View Poll Results: Do you Mashout with your batch sparging?
Mashout, heck yeah! 24 37.50%
Holls no! 24 37.50%
Nader~ 16 25.00%
Voters: 64. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2007, 03:15 PM   #11
PseudoChef
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 102 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 39

I mashed-out on my first 3 batches, but didn't on this last one. I did not see any change in efficiency, and still was around 77-78%.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2007, 03:15 PM   #12
bluechip101
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Sorry guys, but I'm a noob. Can someone define "mashout"?

Old 10-29-2007, 03:23 PM   #13
PseudoChef

Recipes 

Liked 102 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechip101
Sorry guys, but I'm a noob. Can someone define "mashout"?
It is an additional mash step used to raise the mash temperature from the normal range of 148-154*F to 168-170*F. This stops further enzyme conversion, preserving the fermentables. It is also thought to add a further degree of extraction for the grain as sugar is more soluble at higher temperatures.

You do not want to exceed 170*, though, as this will begin extraction of the tannins from the grain husks leading to bittering off-flavours.

Old 10-29-2007, 04:19 PM   #14
pjj2ba
Look under the recliner
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 192 Times on 158 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by PseudoChef
It is also thought to add a further degree of extraction for the grain as sugar is more soluble at higher temperatures.

You do not want to exceed 170*, though, as this will begin extraction of the tannins from the grain husks leading to bittering off-flavours.