Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Attention new all grain brewers!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2012, 11:57 PM   #291
Jakeintoledo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcaustin View Post
Gotcha. Thanks for the insight!

Austin
I just looked at your picture gallery. I am also a novice fabricator/welder, and I dearly wish to follow in your footsteps.

I shall also grow hops.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2012, 04:34 AM   #292
mike_in_ak
Recipes 

Liked 84 Times on 52 Posts

Two questions:

1) What's the rate of boil off?

2) iodine test vs mash time/temp: if my calculations or recipe says mash at 154 for one hour, how does the iodine test factor? If I still show starch present after an hour, should I keep mashing?

Old 10-30-2012, 04:46 AM   #293
mike_in_ak
Recipes 

Liked 84 Times on 52 Posts

Scratch question number one. Google and hbt show no easy answer to that one.

Old 10-30-2012, 01:07 PM   #294
Mysticmead
Recipes 

Liked 73 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 116

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_in_ak View Post
Two questions:

1) What's the rate of boil off?

2) iodine test vs mash time/temp: if my calculations or recipe says mash at 154 for one hour, how does the iodine test factor? If I still show starch present after an hour, should I keep mashing?
1) easy answer. put 5 gallons of water in your kettle. boil for 1 hour. measure the amount left. that's your boil off.

2) if iodine shows starches present, keep mashing. the time given in a recipe is what the creator of that recipe used to achieve conversion. it might be longer for you.

Old 10-30-2012, 03:26 PM   #295
jtkratzer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote: