Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Another batch sparge question. Trouble with a big beer.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 01:53 PM   #1
lakedawgs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Another batch sparge question. Trouble with a big beer.

I have been using the BIAB method for a couple of years with good success but am moving to a cooler for mashing and batch sparging to improve my efficiency.
I have read a ton but cannot wrap my mind around the strike and sparge water volumes for a big beer.

We are using a 70qt converted Igloo Xtreme cooler.
8 Gallon batch, Russian Imperial Stout
33# of grain

At 1.25qts per pound that would be 41.25qts/10.3gals of strike water. With a 10% absorpsion rate, that would be 9.25gals from the first runnings. This only leaves about gallon to a gallon and a half for sparge water volume. I know I could sparge with a bit more water and increase my boil time and vigor to get a bit more boil off, but it seems so little water would yield almost nothing.

I have also read that Denny suggests trying to get about 1/2 the preboil water from the first runnings and 1/2 from the sparge/2nd runnings. At that rate I would less than .65qts of water per pound for my strike water.

I feel like I am likely missing something basic here. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Lakedawgs

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 01:58 PM   #2
Xpertskir
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 366 Times on 242 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Mash thicker and increase your boil time. You could also increase your grain bill and do the RIS from your first runnings and a partigyle with the remaining sugar.

Old 12-28-2012, 02:16 PM   #3
lakedawgs
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts