*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > All grain vs PM brewing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2011, 11:08 AM   #1
Dawgbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default All grain vs PM brewing

I am finishing up my first brew which is a Whisky Stout that I got from a Brewer's Best Kit. This was a PM. I got into brewing b/c it's fun and I would like to make "good"/not award winning beer. My question is... can I continue to make "good" beer and never move up to All Grain brewing?

Also, I've been told by my local Brew Store to stay away from these kits b/c they use old ingredients and buy their "fresh" stuff. Once again, I'm no expert and probably couldn't tell the difference b/w the 2. I like the convenience of the kits, but am I really missing out on the freshness of the store bought stuff?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 11:14 AM   #2
VoodooManX
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 18

I am new to brewing also but have loved doing partial mash kits. The all extract seems a little boring to me. This summer when I have more room outside to do all grain I plan on trying some. The partial mashes I've gotten from austinhomebrew.com smell great and more importantly taste great too. Sounds like your local place is just trying to drum up business. I would believe the larger online places would turn over their ingredients faster than my tiny local shop. Just my .02.

Just brew it.

Last edited by VoodooManX; 02-23-2011 at 12:39 PM.

Old 02-23-2011, 11:17 AM   #3
FAJ
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

There are people that will say you can indeed make award winning beers with extract. If you like the partial mash and don't want to move to all-grain, then don't move to all-grain!