Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > All-Grain Tutorial/Nut Brown Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2008, 01:04 PM   #21
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4450 Times on 3239 Posts
Likes Given: 866

Quote:
Originally Posted by americanweirdo View Post
I can't believe I didn't think to do this!! Is this common among other batch spargers? This HAS to decrease the amount of time it takes to come to a boil by quite a bit!

On my first AG, I waited until I had both runnings before starting the boil, and it TOOK FOREVER!!

Are there any negative effects to doing it this way e.g. boil off from first runnings affecting the total pre-boil volume? Would you be boiling off more of the first runnings this way, as opposed to boiling off the total amount of water including the sparged (2nd) runnings.

Sorry if this has been covered before. I'm quite new to all this.
Actually, if you don't do a mash out, you SHOULD bring those first runnings to a boil right away- you're stopping the conversion process. If you just wait, the enzymes keep working and can change the profile of the wort.

The only thing I can add to your technique Dubble is a little nitpicky thing but it struck me. You mentioned that your mash/sparge water volumes are reversed. Well, you should have more sparge water than mash water. I know that there is some absorption, but your efficiency is better when the mash water is around 1.25 quart/pound (up to 1.5 quart/pound) for the mash and about twice that for sparge water. Also, that keeps your mash ph in the proper range. Just something to think about!

Thanks so much for the pictures- it was great to see the process!
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2008, 02:19 PM   #22
americanweirdo
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by YooperBrew View Post