Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Is all grain supposed to be hard?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 08:21 PM   #21
thadass
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 60

The newsletter email I got from BeerSmith today was a one-pager on switching to all-grain and even that was kind of wordy!

Now, while I'm still very new at brewing, I did two extract batches and two all-grain BIAB. I mean it took all of an extra hour and barely any extra equipment.. my immediate thoughts were exactly that... "why do people freak out over this?".

The door you open to all-grain isn't much bigger or harder to open than the door to extract brewing... it's just the room you're entering that is so much larger.

Old 01-08-2013, 08:22 PM   #22
Clonefan94
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 186 Times on 124 Posts
Likes Given: 46

IMO, I think the biggest problem with a small faction of homebrewers, is that they forget we were all beginners once. That and everyone wants to try to impart all the wisdom they've acquired over the years into your first brew. Amongst this smaller group, you find a lot of "This is the only way and that to make good beer, you have to do it exactly this way." It's easy to get system overload when watching what other people do. I think after gaining all the knowledge, it's easy to forget that for the first timer, get the basics down, then work on perfection.