Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > All Grain or the Highway?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 10:38 AM   #1
jamieofthenorth
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default All Grain or the Highway?

About to brew my fourth all grain batch this afternoon (oatmeal stout), so I'm new to the process. It does take a bit more time but the results make it well worth it and I've had good success so far. I was wondering though, do you guys still brew extract recipes at all, either for the sake of time or simply because the extract fits in with what you want to do? Or are you all grain or bust and never want to look down the barrel of an empty extract can ever again? FWIW, I feel to each their own and hope I'm not stirring the pot (wort?)...but I was just curious.

-Jamie

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2012, 11:07 AM   #2
Hammy71
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 413 Times on 317 Posts
Likes Given: 619

I'm not opposed to doing another extract brew. But, I've been all grain after two extracts and two partial mashes. Never had a need to look back after almost 5 years.

Old 12-02-2012, 12:59 PM   #3
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Feedback Score: 9 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 444 Times on 374 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Not averse to doing an extract batch at all, but since I've been buying grain in bulk by the sack, shelling out bank for a few litttle tubs of extract just doesn't appeal to me.

I did happen to brew a small 3 gal. extract batch the other day though...My LHBS gives away the 15 gal. LME barrels, and damn if there wasn't like 4-5 lbs of LME left in the bottom, so I figured what the hell and brewed a small batch of "Barrel Rinse Pale Ale".

4-5 lbs barrel rinse superlight LME
scant 1/2 lb C40 steeped in the coffee maker