Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > All Grain brew pot advise

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2012, 11:26 PM   #1
dah82
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default All Grain brew pot advise

Hi Guys I'm a newb here

I was curious if anyone has purchased a turkey fryer for there brew pot set-up? If so, did you find the typical 30QT. pot too small? I am looking at a nice cheap set-up that would get me going. I would like to brew 5 gallons all grain using a cooler for a tun as well. Any advise and tips would be sweet.

cheers

dan

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2012, 11:41 PM   #2
BrewinHooligan
High Class Desert Trash
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1107 Times on 700 Posts
Likes Given: 1234

I have and use a 32qt aluminum tamale pot and make 5 gallon batches. My buddy uses the 30qt pot turkey fryer set for the same thing. Just watch the boil carefully to avoid a boilover and FermCap works wonders there too. When using an aluminum pot, make sure to boil water in it for an hour to make an oxidized layer before you use it for brewing.

My rule of life prescribed as an absolutely sacred rite smoking cigars and also the drinking of alcohol before, after and if need be during all meals and in the intervals between them.
- Winston Churchill

Old 04-19-2012, 11:46 PM   #3
Paymygasbill77
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I use a modified 30qt Turkey fryer and a modified 10 gallon orange home depot water cooler to brew 5 gallon batches.

The turkey fryer pot is a little on the small side. If you collect 7 gallons of wort from the mash tun that doesn't give you much room and you are almost certain to have at least a little boil over.

I STRONGLY recommend getting at least a 10 gallon mash tun if you intend to make any big beers.

Old 04-19-2012, 11:47 PM   #4
Paymygasbill77
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote: