New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > AG Mild Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2008, 02:13 PM   #1
rwdr4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default AG Mild Ale

Has anyone every made a Mild Ale?? I made one yesterday, cooled it and all, and then pitched the yeast @72. It was about 5 o'clock when I pitched the yeast. It is now 910 or so and no activity yet. Has this happened to anyone?? I usually get action within 10 hours of pitching. Hope I didnt screw up. This is a Northern Brewer AG kit. The yeast was the Activator (it dd work) Wyeast #1275 Thames Valley Ale Yeast.

Bill

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 02:36 PM   #2
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer

Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Mild ales are great! I'm just getting into them myself.

This thread should help set your mind at ease.

Projects: Sylvania Kegerator Conversion, Tower Cooling, Grain Milling Station

Old 04-06-2008, 03:09 PM   #3
rwdr4
Recipes 

Thanks for the post, we'll see what happens from here. I'll give it the time. Like I said usually I get ferm quick this situation might be because of the type of beer being made and the short duration of the fermentation.

We'll see
Bill

Old 04-06-2008, 09:52 PM   #4
rwdr4
Recipes 

You know my impatience has taken a good bite. I went to the lake with my kids today and got home about thirty minutes ago. We'll I walked into the MAN ROOM andlooked at my new Mil Ale and should of guessd it....................I have Krausen. Looks like fermentation has begun.....

Guess I should not think each beer should work the same especially with different yeast strains.

Thanks for the post and I have learned a lesson..............be patient and not be in such a hurry.

Fermentation is good.

Bill

Old 04-07-2008, 07:47 PM   #6
balto charlie

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwdr4