Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Advice Sought: Budget brewer re-evaluating my all-grain equipment

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 09:26 AM   #11
bvn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I have never heard of fly, batch nor continuous sparging and I have been brewing regularly for about 10 years (at least twice per month). I use a separate lautering tun - foundation water, plus mash, keep adding water, so that in the end, the sweet liquor covers the top handle rivet of my 32 qt boil pot (about 7.5 gallons, 3/4" from the top). The pot & contents weigh 65 lbs. I stop here because the pot is full and weighs plenty. The lautering outflow usually, but not always, runs transparent at the end.

The water I add to the lautering tun is called sparge water in my books. So am I lautering or am I sparging?

Brewing is a culinary art - Bruce vanNorman

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 09:50 AM   #12
bvn
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

One last thought. I've been retired for about 15 years. Budget limitations I understand. My biggest brewing investments are:
- my fluvarium (rain room), it was supposed to be a solarium, but I live in Seattle. It has NG quick disconnect and one wall completely opens to the outdoors. This is where I boil.
- my basement (20 cu ft) refrigerator which holds 3 Corney kegs, CO2, milk, eggs, etc.
- for cooling the wort, I use a sump pump, plastic hoses, copper coil, and a rain water cistern.
Notice the multi-use nature of the investment. My pots (boil, sparge, & decoction) are from our kitchen. The only expensive dedicated equipment is the Christmas tree (regulator) on my CO2 bottle.