Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Adjust mill settings for choc rye?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2012, 12:51 PM   #1
Token
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Token's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UP of MI, Michigan
Posts: 552
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Adjust mill settings for choc rye?

I'm going to brew a recipe using only 1/4 pound of chocolate rye, but those grains look really little. Do I need to adjust my grain mill setting for it? Should I just use a rolling pin on it since it's just 1/4 pound? Or should I just run it through with the rest of the grain?

Dawson's Multigrain Red All-Grain Kit - All-Grain Ale Kits - All-Grain Kits - Recipe Kits - Brewing : Northern Brewer

__________________
Worry Wort Brewing
Token is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
shutupjojo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: dundee, Oregon
Posts: 455
Liked 28 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

You really need to adjust the mill . Rye and Wheat should be crushed
on a closer gap. Or whatever it takes to crush them.

__________________
shutupjojo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2012, 02:05 PM   #3
Token
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Token's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UP of MI, Michigan
Posts: 552
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Ya, the wheat looks a lot smaller than the grains I usually use too. Hmm, maybe I'll crush them together at a smaller gap and then I'll crush the rest at the original gap. Thanks!

__________________
Worry Wort Brewing
Token is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2012, 05:54 PM   #4
jtejedor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 651
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

I don't usually adjust my gap for rye and don't remember efficiency suffering.

__________________
jtejedor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2012, 01:47 AM   #5
shutupjojo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: dundee, Oregon
Posts: 455
Liked 28 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtejedor View Post
I don't usually adjust my gap for rye and don't remember efficiency suffering.
Good for you ! Some people prefer a coarser crush and if set too wide,
the rye will pass on through without being touched.
__________________
shutupjojo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2012, 01:58 AM   #6
Rev2010
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 1,639
Liked 74 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 207

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shutupjojo View Post
Good for you ! Some people prefer a coarser crush and if set too wide,
the rye will pass on through without being touched.
Good for him? Geez, the attitudes around here lately.

@hope2perc - It solely depends on your mill setting. If you get a coarse setting when milling barley then yes, you will want a tighter setting for wheat or rye. If you get a good fine crush with barley then there is no need to set the mill gap.

I have a Barley Crusher mill and left it at the factory setting which is 0.39. I crush my barley, wheat, etc through it and get a great crush every batch. I'm also getting 79% consistent efficiency for every batch. Doesn't matter if it's a primarily barley based batch or primarily wheat.


Rev.
__________________
Rev2010 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2012, 06:35 PM   #7
Token
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Token's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UP of MI, Michigan
Posts: 552
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Thanks Rev. I was thinking I'll run the rye and wheat through and see how it looks. My mill is at factory setting, and I've been hitting my numbers real well. If nothing else, I'll hit it with the ol' rolling pin!

__________________
Worry Wort Brewing
Token is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
different mill settings for different grains mfraier All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 1 12-12-2011 12:11 AM
How long does grain (choc malt) keep? Hebby5 All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 9 11-23-2011 10:30 PM
Grain mill settings for BIAB enkamania All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 11 04-15-2011 02:42 PM
Choc. Stout extended mash NuclearRich All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 2 09-07-2010 02:17 PM
Roller settings on mill jagg All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 5 06-10-2008 02:39 AM