Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > 8 gallon brew pot....
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2010, 10:44 AM   #11
rico567
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rico567's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,018
Liked 82 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboedbug View Post
will it work for 5-5 1/2 gallon batches?
Yes. I use a 30 qt. SS Proctor-Silex cheapie pot, and it will do a 6.5 gallon boil very well. Of course, I use Fermcap-S when the boil starts, 5-6 drops does the trick. Absent employing something to suppress boilover, a larger pot would be in order.
__________________

“Malt does more than Milton can / To justify God’s ways to man”

-A. E. Housman (1859–1936). A Shropshire Lad , 1896.

rico567 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 01:05 PM   #12
Synovia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 1,327
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suprchunk View Post
I used to brew in my 7g canning crock. It was MORE THAN SUFFICIENT! Hell, I brewed a 6.5 gallon batch in it - without boil-overs. You guys don't need nearly 3 gallons of headspace. 8 gallons will be fine for your 5-5.5 gallon batches. The only time I have ever had boil-overs is when I left the pot alone before it had settled into its full-rolling boil. I guess people are getting too lazy to stand around their pot while it starts to boil nowadays, and adjust to maintain a full boil without boil-over.
You don't have anywhere near 3 gallons of headspace with an 8 gallon pot. If I'm doing a 5 g batch, I'm starting out with about 7g of wort. After expansion and all that, its much less than 1g of head space.

I don't think I could do a 6.5g batch in an 8g pot, and not have all sorts of DMS issues.
__________________
Synovia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 01:09 PM   #13
TheManes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 80
Default

Using fermcap I haven't had any problem boiling 7.5 gallons in my 8G.

__________________
TheManes is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 01:32 PM   #14
SickTransitMundus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 160
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I agree, you don't need a bigger kettle. I brew in an 8 gal. stainless kettle from morebeer. I routinely collect 7 to 7.5 gal of wort and bring it to a full boil with no problems. I had problems with boil-over until I learned two things. First, pay close attention when near or at a boil. Second, finesse and reduce the propane flow when approaching boiling temp. If you're using a turkey fryer-type flame source, you shouldn't have to crank it up to maintain a good, rolling boil.

I also begin the boil after I collect the first two gallons of runoff, so I get some evaporation before the kettle is full. Maybe 1/4 or 1/3 of a gallon.

__________________
SickTransitMundus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 05:55 PM   #15
VApatriot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 176
Liked 18 Times on 11 Posts

Default

+1 about what sick said. I also use an 8 gallon kettle to boil in, just need to be careful not to boil over. I've never had any problems and probably won't.

__________________
Government is the only institution that can take a valuable commodity like paper and make it worthless by applying ink.
Ludwig von Mises
VApatriot is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 06:24 PM   #16
springer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
springer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wappingers falls NY
Posts: 4,990
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts

Default

Keep a fan on it or use a spray mister bottle both knock down the boil over .

__________________

'The taxpayer: That's someone who works for the federal government but doesn't have to take the civil service examination.'- Ronald Reagan

springer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 06:28 PM   #17
Homercidal
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 23,548
Liked 2136 Times on 1529 Posts
Likes Given: 1172

Default

I use a standard turkey fryer pot and have had boil-overs. Of course I also HAVEN'T had boil overs too. If I use drops, no problem. If not, sometimes it wants to boil over. I usually don't mind sitting there with my hand on the valve, but sometimes even with no drops, it just boils away no problems (until I turn my head, then it erupts...)

And, I usually have to drop the flame to almost nothing to keep a rolling boil once it gets going. I'd like a bigger kettle, but for now it's working good.

__________________
Livin' after midnight. Rockin' til the dawn. Lovin' til the morning. Then I'm gone. I'm gone.
Homercidal is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 06:48 PM   #18
suprchunk
Fich Eine Ente
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
suprchunk's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Crestview, Florida
Posts: 647
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synovia View Post
You don't have
You are assuming I don't. But yet I did. When I used MY pot in MY system.
__________________
suprchunk is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 06:53 PM   #19
suprchunk
Fich Eine Ente
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
suprchunk's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Crestview, Florida
Posts: 647
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synovia View Post
I don't think I could do a 6.5g batch in an 8g pot, and not have all sorts of DMS issues.
You might want to look at your cooling methods if you get DMS issues. You want to cool it quickly.

I never had DMS issues when boiling that close to capacity. Of course I boil as hard as possible, don't boil off anything close to 40% of what I started with (not that it contributes to the lack of DMS, just never felt the need to waste precious wort - unless I am looking for those caramelized tastes), and chill in 10 minutes, add oxygen and yeast and keep my temps as controlled as possible.
__________________
suprchunk is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2010, 06:55 PM   #20
Synovia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 1,327
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suprchunk View Post
You are assuming I don't. But yet I did. When I used MY pot in MY system.
You have 3 gallons of headspace in an 8 gallon pot while making 6.5 gallon batches? How exactly do you manage that?
__________________
Synovia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First 5 Gallon AG Brew BrewVol Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 04-12-2010 02:37 AM
55 Gallon Brew Day DeathBrewer Home Brewing Photo Forum 25 02-23-2010 06:09 PM
22 quart cooler, 2 4 gallon brew pots: how much can I brew AG? Cugel All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 9 05-31-2008 09:40 AM
93 Gallon big brew pedalbiker All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 11 05-22-2008 01:19 AM
2.5 gallon brew in 6.5 gallon carboy??? ethangray19 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 09-01-2007 12:41 PM