Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > 2nd AG under the belt, worse efficiency than the 1st, but still ok

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2008, 03:35 PM   #1
humann_brewing
More Humann than human
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 312 Times on 310 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Default 2nd AG under the belt, worse efficiency than the 1st, but still ok

Well, I have my second AG under my belt now. I brewed up http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f66/casc...ale-ale-84558/ by blacklab.

There were quite a few firsts. I have never used leaf hops before and never FWH either. Both worked out very well, I just used a strainer to catch all the hops and orange peel when dumping the wort into the fermentor at the end.

My efficiency dropped from 85% (1st AG) to 77% but I think this is due to the crush by B3, the grains didn't look as crushed as my first batch where I got the grain from the LHBS. I actually got out the pin roller and crushed some of the specialty grains up more because they really didn't look that crushed.

The recipe was based on 75% so I came out ok on the OG (1.053)

The fermentation has started, a bit slow right now, but I am sure it will speed up. Can't wait to taste this one. I will post a picture later.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2008, 03:53 PM   #2
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Awww, I wish I had your bad efficiency. Congrats on the second AG beer and good luck on the next one.

Make Beer, Not War.

Old 11-19-2008, 01:49 PM   #3
humann_brewing
More Humann than human

Recipes 

Well here are some pictures. Things are looking good and even the gas coming out the airlock smells great.

This is after about 8 hours

This is after about 32 hours and lava lamp like too.