Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > 1st brown ale...looking for recipe feedback

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2012, 02:38 PM   #1
mlevings12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 1st brown ale...looking for recipe feedback

Hello All,

I'm working on a Brown Ale, my first of this style. I was torn between the Northern English variety w/ its classic toffee notes and the American version, with it's slightly more aggressive hops. Looking for some critiques on my recipe. Hoping to brew this weekend.

7 lbs, 8 oz Pale Malt (2 row, UK)
1lb, 8 oz Brown Malt (UK)
1lb Crystal -60L
8oz Chocolate Malt
4oz Biscuit Malt

.75oz Willamette @ 30 min
.50oz Willamette @ FWH
.50oz Centennial @ 60 min

Wyeast British Ale II (#1335)

Mash 60 min @ 152, Batch Sparge @ 168

Like I said, this is my first attempt at this style, so all feedback/suggestions - most appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2012, 03:31 PM   #2
vera
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I ran your recipe through Beer Smith, assuming you have about a 70% mash efficiency, and end up with 5 gallons of beer. It seems like you are perfectly within the style guideline. I love your grain bill. The only thing I would change is gravity - I like higher gravity (but then, I don't know your efficiency or batch size.) Your IBUs are a bit high for the style at 42.7. Suggested is 20-40, however you are FWHing which should make for a nice balance, especially with the malts you are using. I would brew this. If you do, check back and let me know how you like it.

Old 08-01-2012, 03:58 PM   #3
mlevings12
Recipes