The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > 15 minute mash

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2006, 08:54 PM   #1
JRoche00
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 15 minute mash

Hey all,

I was listening to some Archives of my favorite beer radio show, The Brewing Network (http://thebrewingnetwork.com/) and there was an interview with the head brewer from TitleTown Brewery in Green Bay, WI.

He said that by using a wide and shallow mash bed as opposed to the tall compact design used by many homebrewers water cooler setups (myself included), you could achieve full mash in 15 minutes!

Apparently the guy does this now and swears by it. I use 60 minute mash on pretty much anything, and find this hard to swallow... but then again, I'm not a professional brewer (by any means).

Anyone had any experience with a shallow mash bed and these kinds of decreased mash times? I think I may give it a try with a giant tailgate cooler... 15 minutes??? Seriously?

"I feel sorry for people that don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day." -Frank Sinatra

The liver is evil... it must be punished...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2006, 09:14 PM   #2
Rhoobarb

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I've read about this type of thing before. Interesting, but I have my reservations. I doubt it would work for homebrewers - I'd think you need an awfully large mash tun to make it work.

Old 01-10-2006, 09:32 PM   #3
DesertBrew
You're not my type
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 76 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 146