The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > wing-type capper technique.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2009, 01:46 AM   #1
Pezman1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default wing-type capper technique.

Newbie here. Been trying out my red "Emily" style capper on empty bottles, and I have a question.

Do you;

1. Place the cap on the bottle, Place the capper on top of the bottle/cap. Press down on the capper arms causing the metal C-brackets of the capper lower arms to slide up the neck until contacting the lip of the bottle, causing the bell to come down and crimp the cap.

2. Place the cap on the capper magnet. Position the capper so the metal C-brackets are just below the lip of the bottle, then squeeze the arms together and push down to crimp.

Both of these mothods seem to work, except method 1 is pretty hard to do on bottles like those from Sierra Nevada, with its sloping style neck.

Thanks! Pez.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2009, 01:58 AM   #2
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 424 Times on 345 Posts
Likes Given: 58

I use method #2. The problem I have with method #1 is that the caps are prone to slip off from time to time either before I can get the capper in place, or as I'm placing the capper.

Old 07-24-2009, 02:02 AM   #3
hamiltont
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Tried #2 initially but I seem to have better luck placing the cap in the bottle & then the capper. I guess the best way is whatever works best for you..

If Homebrew & BBQ aren't the answer, then you're askin' the wrong questions... Cheers!!!

Old 07-24-2009, 02:19 AM   #4
bull8042
I like 'em shaved

Recipes 

Liked 444 Times on 443 Posts
Likes Given: 11