Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > What kind of bottles can we re-use for bottling, I am a Bar manager

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2012, 07:35 PM   #1
maierjo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default What kind of bottles can we re-use for bottling, I am a Bar manager

I am a bar manager and am looking to save a couple bucks by re-using the bottles from work.
Currently I have my staff saving all the Sam Adams bottles and they have work well for me so far but I need more bottles without paying lots for new ones.
I physically don't have the space for a Kegorator so kegging is out of the question. I know we can not use any twist top bottles and some bottles the lip on top is different so the cap doesn't make a perfect seal.

Without wasting my own brew on bad bottles what brands work best. We carry, Hoegarden, Sam Adams, Stella, Bass, Heineken, Newcastle... Any help would be appreciated. Cheers

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 07:45 PM   #2
Diver165
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

IMHO, Sam Adams has the best bottles by far that I've seen (nice and heavy glass usually darker than most bottles too). Pick up a Sam Adams bottle, ook at the neck and collar around the top of the bottle. Match that to whatever bottle and you'll have what you're looking for. Dos Equis bottles have a shorter "collar" that doesn't bite well with most cappers. Some of the collars are rounded like Hobgobblin beers. Also I don't like the Stella bottles because they feel too flimsy for me. Again, just my opinion but I avoid saving all bottles that are not brown.

Old 01-04-2012, 07:48 PM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2724 Times on 1632 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

Really any crown cap bottle can be used. We recommend folks stay away from clear or green.