Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Vintage Kelvinator freezer restoration

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2012, 07:05 PM   #121
89OctaneStang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 172
Liked 10 Times on 4 Posts

Default

And here it is put in place. Had to pull tension and add heat with a heat gun around the corners to get it to lay down flat. Had to cut a few "V" groves in the bottom half of the seal in the corners. And shocked myself by cutting a perfect edge on the ends causing them to fit together nicely. Added some super glue to the two ends in order to maintain a solid air tight seal.

forumrunner_20120406_145818.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_145848.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_145916.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_145941.jpg  
__________________
89OctaneStang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 08:15 PM   #122
89OctaneStang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 172
Liked 10 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Lid and tower is back on but I have a problem. The right corner seams to not want to seat level with the rest of the corners. Need some suggestions quick on what to do to fix this. First thought is to add some stainless steal or chrome plated clasps like you would have on the front of your tool box. Any comments/ideas?

forumrunner_20120406_161253.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_161319.jpg  
__________________
89OctaneStang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 08:39 PM   #123
slakwhere
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 755
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

magnets?

__________________
slakwhere is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 08:56 PM   #124
jamesjensen1068
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 366
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Any chance that the tension on the lid from the tower being bolted on is causing the lid to flex? Or is the support arm on the inside causing it to flex? I would check those two things first.

__________________
jamesjensen1068 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 09:56 PM   #125
89OctaneStang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 172
Liked 10 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Unfortunately magnets are not going to be strong enough.

It has the same problem with the tensioner unbolted... I did not think of it before, but the lid had been flexed because it appeared that at one point the tensioner was removed and when the old owners opened the lid they had let it go and it bent the hinge and lid where it connected. We tried flexing it back into place as good as we could and then bondo'd the heck out of the top to make it look level. LOL, should have been my first clue that I was going to run into problems getting it to seal right on that side.

__________________
89OctaneStang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 10:06 PM   #126
89OctaneStang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 172
Liked 10 Times on 4 Posts

Default

In keeping with the theme, I am going to attempt to install stainless hood pins at just the right length that when pressed firmly closed, it will hold pressure on the lid maitaining a seal. I just hate to have to drill any holes but this way I am only taking a chance at two holes that will be covered by a plate as opposed to several holes with the tool box style clasp.

I am going to use rubber shock and end link bushings shaved down to the right thickness on the inside around the pins to create and maintain an air tight seal... pray for me!!

forumrunner_20120406_180534.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_180602.jpg  
__________________
89OctaneStang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 10:08 PM   #127
slakwhere
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 755
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

epic solution!!!

__________________
slakwhere is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 11:21 PM   #128
89OctaneStang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 172
Liked 10 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Started to attack rewiring the unit as well.... another problem and this may be a show stopper for the unveiling of this beast tomorrow and maybe even before I deploy in a couple weeks.

I was simply going to add new wire from the unit relay to the power outlet. I was investigating the wiring from the relay to the compressor and it is so dry rotted that I would not trust it to run with out supervision. I honestly do not know how the current wiring never arched and caught fire before. I could have been the reason for some of the bare wiring as we removed the relay in the very begining to see what it would take to add the new grounded plug. Just disturbing it that much could have knocked some of the dry rotted casing off the wires and I never noticed it.

I have all the wire to completly replace the wiring from the relay to the posts on the compressor but it is almost impossible to get to without taking the compressor out some and getting to the back of it. This stinks! So much more could go wrong once I start unbolting the compressor. I can not unhook the coolant lines cause I do not have that kind of money laying around to have an A/C guy come in and replace the old stuff with updated freon...

Time for a beer and to gather my thoughts!

__________________
89OctaneStang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 11:48 PM   #129
89OctaneStang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 172
Liked 10 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Here is what it used to look like and what it looks like now.

It looks like there are bare wires back as far as the wire mount on the back left compressor stabilizer. Was told by the local appliance store to not bypass the thermostat and not to change out the old relay since it worked before with no issues. I am not very good with electricity so if anyone out there knows of someone on this site that is good at this stuff, could you please ask them to chime in with their knowledge and guidance. Thanks!

forumrunner_20120406_193805.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_193854.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_194004.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_194046.jpg   forumrunner_20120406_194115.jpg  

__________________
89OctaneStang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2013, 08:22 AM   #130
honreth
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 85
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 136

Default

I know this is kinda a dead thread and I may have missed it... is this beat of beverage dispensing beauty running?

sorry for rezzing dead thread but this inquiring mind wants to know.

__________________
honreth is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kelvinator Fridge conversion Dagatris Bottling/Kegging 3 08-06-2011 01:49 AM
Abita Restoration Ale Clone kanielb1 All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 6 03-20-2011 12:38 AM
Abita Restoration Ale rcd Recipes/Ingredients 0 09-04-2006 10:50 PM