The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Use of wine bottles for beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 09:19 PM   #11
vonsarell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtwalsh922 View Post
This may be an oft asked question, but I didn't come across any posts that completely answered my question.

I'm relatively new to brewing (only a couple batches) but thus far I've had good (tasty) results. To date I've bottle everything in 12oz bottles that I've bought or recycled. No problems with this.

Lately I've held aside several non-clear wine bottles with the thought of using them with a future brew. I know that some wine bottles will actually take a standard cap, but most of mine won't due to thinkness of the glass, etc.

That leads me to corking. I know that with a Belgian style bottle you can use what is essentially a champagne cork with a wire hood.

Can basic wine bottles be corked in some fashion for use with some types of beer? These bottles don't have a lip for a wire hood, and I wouldn't think a cork alone would be adequate factoring in the carbonation. I just wondered if I was overlooking another option, or if I should just forget about the wine bottles and drop them off at the recycling center?

Cheers....

Mike
I have seen several references to the danger of bottling beer in wine bottles. However, There is a clip and clamp system that allows a grolsch type plug to be fitted to a wine bottle. This solves the problem of how to plug the wine bottle after filling it with beer

Are the claims that wine bottles will explode when subjected to carbonation pressures factual or are they speculation? Has anyone had a wine bottle actually explode?