Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Those that prime bottles

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2008, 01:18 PM   #1
Terry08
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Those that prime bottles

I thought I might share this. I bottle and just add a measure ofsugar to the bottle but even though the SG is correct I noticed that sometimes when the beer is filled in the bottle, Co2 trapped in solution can cause the beer to foam up. Does not harm anything but it tales longer.

My solution is once the ferment is ready to bottle I check by drawing off a small amount and just sprinkle some sugar in. If it foams up I leave the bottling for a day or two.

I believe that excessive foaming on bottling reduces the final head in the glass.

I am no expert even though I have years of experiance. I adopted a method that works for me and until a few weeks ago when I discovered this forum. I never had any idea how others brewed.

I am always open to improvements and using a secondary for the first time has me inspecting the batch I bottled using this method. It has been a week and I will have difficulty in not trying a bottle. It will be a long month.

It had better be good as I now have another batch in the secondary

Bottled Lager
Secondary Draught
Next Dark Ale

They are what there are no fancy descriptions. An Aussie beer does not need a fancy name, it never lasts long enough to be remembered.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2008, 04:04 PM   #2
The Blow Leprechaun
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

If you use software to calculate your amount of priming sugar, it actually takes the CO2 in solution into account - that's why you input the temperature the beer is currently sitting at.

Old 07-21-2008, 04:18 PM   #3
cheezydemon
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Boiling the sugar in water and adding it to the bottling bucket insures more even distribution. I highly recommend it.