New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Taste before bottling?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2012, 04:47 PM   #1
phillygreen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Taste before bottling?

Hello,
I'm new to the form and to home brewing. I have my first batch fermenting now and i'm 10 days in and almost ready to bottle. I was just wondering if you should taste your beer before you bottle? If there is a problem will you be able to tell? Will it taste like the finished product just with out the carbonation? I would hate to bottle it all then have it taste like crap. Please help.....
Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2012, 05:03 PM   #2
Golddiggie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 467 Times on 414 Posts
Likes Given: 266

Pull a hydrometer sample, check the SG and then taste the sample. Write down the SG reading and repeat 3-4 days later. You'll be able to taste off flavors in the sample. If it doesn't taste right, chances are it just needs more time in primary. If you taste green apples, then the beer is still GREEN and not nearly ready for bottles.

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se

On Tap: Caramel Ale, Mocha Porter II, MO SMaSH IPA
Waiting/Carbonating: 12.5% Wee Honey II, 8.9% Old Ale, English Brown Ale, Lickah ESB, Mocha Porter II
Fermenting
K1:
K2: Epic mead
K3: TripSix
On Deck: Caramel Ale
Aging:mead
Mead [bottled]:Oaked Wildflower Traditional, Mocha Madness, Blackberry Melomel, maple wine

...the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed

Old 05-30-2012, 12:59 AM   #3
billl
Recipes 

Liked 234 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Most styles of beer should taste pretty much like the finished product - just flat.