Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Sizing your Chest Freezer for Corny Kegs

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2009, 07:37 PM   #71
doug1395
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Im new to brewing beer so this might be dumb but are you guys just turning the temp down in the freezers

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 11:52 PM   #72
ODP
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Here's what I've (and most around here) use:

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/produc...oducts_id=1214

You install the sensor in the freezer, plug the freezer into the thermostat, plug the thermostat into the wall, set your temp and you're done! Hope this helps...

Old 09-25-2009, 07:34 PM   #73
RiverRat280
Recipes 

I bought the Frigidaire 7cu ft freezer from lowes also. Will a 2x8 be a large enough collar then to fit cornys on the compressor hump? By the other post it sounds like thats all I need, does anyone know for sure that its true?

Old 09-26-2009, 01:01 AM   #74
doug1395
Recipes 

Every one keeps talking about the size of these freezers, I dont understand why not buy a bigger one off creigs list and be done,also is there any models from hd or lowes that you do not need a senser for and you can just turn up to 35 degrees or so. Thanks for the help !

Old 09-26-2009, 02:26 AM   #75
ODP
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1395 View Post
Every one keeps talking about the size of these freezers, I dont understand why not buy a bigger one off creigs list and be done
You've got to remember that alot of people don't have room for a 19 cu ft chest freezer- I myself live in a 1 bedroom 800sq ft house w/ no garage- my space constraints are pretty strict so I've got to fit the most I can in the smallest package, you know? I don't mind because I don't need 12 taps at once! 4 is cool with me...

I like my women like I like my beer- BIG and DARK!

Old 09-27-2009, 01:42 AM   #76
Patster