Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Sediment in bottles

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2008, 08:46 PM   #1
pcarnell@hotmail.com
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Sediment in bottles

I am quite new to home brewing but i have read a couple books on it. I understand that sediment is almost inevitable when bottling bitter. i was wondering if there are any ways you can reduce the residue. can you condition it in a cask for a couple of weeks and allow to clear before bottling, will this ruin the carbonation when bottling, and help would be much appreciated, cheers

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2008, 09:04 PM   #2
paranode
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Most people leave it in the secondary for a few weeks up to a few months to let it clear. It won't hurt anything because there will still be some yeast left in suspension. However when you introduce more sugar at bottling that's where the sediment comes from. You can't really avoid it when carbonating naturally.

Old 03-15-2008, 09:30 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4369 Times on 3177 Posts
Likes Given: 850

Yes, if you're using a clearing vessel/tank (a "secondary"), that will help to ensure that you have less sediment in your bottles especially if you leave it for about a month or so. Also, you can choose a more flocculant yeast, because it will compact tightly in the grainbed, giving you less in suspension. Also, if you use a flocculant yeast, it'll compact tightly in the bottle, so it's easier to pour off of the sediment without disturbing it.

You do get really good at pouring, though, trust me! I can pour a homebrew and leave just about 1/4 inch in the bottle, and get beautiful clear beer with no yeast in it. I bet the vast majority of us on here can do that!

Old 03-15-2008, 10:12 PM   #4
pcarnell@hotmail.com
Recipes