Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > ruined my beer by kegging? or....what?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2014, 05:48 AM   #1
rangerdanger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default ruined my beer by kegging? or....what?

new to the forum, hello all!! little but of back story, My SWMBO's father is an avid home brewer, and i have had plenty of tasty brews from him. I got into the hobby after helping out at a few brewdays and decided it was time for my first batch solo. I followed all the precautions sanitizing, following instructions, all that jazz...

im a newbie by all means but have done plenty of research, but the problem i have is leaving me baffled.

So i purchased a SMaSH ale all grain kit from northernbrewer.com, and had at it. Assuming a easy peasy single malt/single hop ale would be an easy recipe for a first batch.

the end result is a bitter tasting beer with a flavor that sticks around and just isnt pleasant. Like, it almost taste like like its spoiled, but its only been in a keg for 5 days!

now, my thoughts behind this off flavor are as follows:

I decided to leave in primary fermentation for the whole two weeks, VS one week primary/one week secondary. Now after researching, i dont think this is the source of my problem, but its a possibility? right?

OR! the kegs i have are corny pin lock kegs i got from a good friend who works as a manufacturing manager at Cornelius! I received them still full of soda syrup, so after bleach bombing, soaking in oxy clean, rinsing, rinsing, soaking in PBW, rinsing, rinsing, and starsan and rising...and rinsing...OH and rinsing my beer lines with star san, and being all new hardware, is this a possible cause?